1st Time Coin Roll Hunting - Land Silver! (Must be beginners luck)

mparis

Greenie
Feb 17, 2014
Long Island, NY
Detector(s) used
White's Spectra VX3
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello Everyone, My name is Matt and this is my first thread/post on treasurenet. I am from Long Island, New York and am part of the local metal detecting club out here. I am brand new to metal detecting as well as coin roll hunting as of last January (with metal detecting) and today with Coin Roll hunting. Today since it was really cold outside and the ground was still frozen with about a foot of snow, I figured i'd see what coin roll hunting was all about. After some research and not having any luck with banks carrying half dollars, I decided to go with dimes. I purchased 47 rolls of dimes from two separate banks one being a TD (27 rolls) and the other a Chase bank (20 rolls) with the change receipt I got from TD. The tellers at both banks were very kind and accommodated me very well. I didn't expect much to come from my first attempt, but was really hoping for some silver. Previously over the years of gathering change I have found a few mercury dimes, buffalos and even an 1899 liberty V nickel which really got my blood boiling for collecting.

So after going through the 27 rolls from TD bank and finding no silvers and a bunch of teaser 1965 dimes I felt pretty discouraged. Most of the rolls from TD were machine-rolled, while the 20 from Chase were split between being hand-rolled and machine-rolled.

So I get through the first 5 rolls in the Chase bag and find nothing... Then on the 6th roll (machine-rolled) I found a centennial silver Canadian dime. Up until this point I was a bit confused on how silver looked, but once I saw the Canadian dime