My first find ever - Not worthy of a pic

elistepp

Feb 1, 2007
Well,
I finally broke out the new Ace 250! Went into the back field/yard and started swinging. Not 1 minute went by and then BEEP! I was excited! I dug with the digger that Kellyco sent. Half way through digging a hole the size of a bowling ball (told ya I was new), the digger broke! What can I expect for free. Anyway, I pulled out a small blob of melted metal. It is the ugliest non exciting blob the size of a quarter at one end and kinda looks like a chili pepper. I don't care!!! It's mine and I found it with my detector. It isn't an old coin but I will always have it because it is the very first thing that I dug out of the ground MDing. I do have a question though. It seems that I would get hits and when I went over the spot again I wold lose the signal. Also, when I tried to pinpoint the spot it would sound over a very large area. Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong? I know that it is because I am new to this but I thought that I would ask the experienced MDers. Any help would be appreciated. We are going to our local man made beach this weekend. Sand has got to be easier to sift through than clay.

Eli

Upvote 0

Green1

Silver Member
Mar 20, 2006
Massachusetts
Detector(s) used
Mxt 6x10 coil Massachusetts
congrads on finding metal !! lol.....i wish i could remember my first find..prob a nail or something.... ;D ;D ;D ;D

what maybe going on is a ghost signal,, some metals leech into the ground, giving kinda a halo effect.. this maybe what you are picking up after the target was retrived...

watercolor

Silver Member
Feb 3, 2007
Arlington Heights, IL
Detector(s) used
V3i, MXT-All Pro and Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Everything you find will always have SOME value. . . you just may not realize it's true worth at this time.

OP
OP
E

elistepp

Feb 1, 2007