May 25, 2007
ENGLAND
πŸ₯‡ Banner finds
πŸ† Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus II v0.6 with 11" Coil
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
That is a very expensive gift. Was she told the provenance, if not she needs it. A coin like this needs its past sales (& findspot) with it, its present history is as important as its Ancient. These are one of the most copied types of coin, so I would suggest taking it to an expert in ancient coins. If real, she is a very lucky lady, tell her from me.

PS.

Here are a couple of simple tests;

No good provenance - possible red flag
Weigh it (to 0.00 accuracy) - Check its the right weight, if too far out - red flag
Test with a magnet - if sticks - red flag
Check the edge of the coin - if there is a seam - red flag
Check the Die Axis - 12o'c or 6o'c etc (on these coins, not sure what they are meant to be, not something I studied)

If all these check out OK, you may not be out of the woods. They have even made them from real gold without seams etc...

Last edited:

cjon455

Gold Member
Jun 4, 2012
Northeast PA
πŸ† Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Minelab Etrac
Garrett Propointer
Garrett Propointer-AT
Sampson T handle shovel
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Really really cool, now THATS old!

CRUSADER

Gold Member
May 25, 2007
ENGLAND
πŸ₯‡ Banner finds
πŸ† Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Really really cool, now THATS old!

At this point it 'maybe' real old. I have my fingers cross, but my gut on this one is telling me otherwise. I'm not putting down the gift, only giving my free advice on what to do to check it & save it with all it's info. (She is only the current Custodian)

Last edited:

CRUSADER

Gold Member
May 25, 2007
ENGLAND
πŸ₯‡ Banner finds
πŸ† Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Sorry, sometimes I don't think how old you & your Sis maybe, I hope I haven't ruined someones nice intentions. (towards your young? Sis)

OP