OP
OP
V

viv poly

Aug 27, 2014
banksmeadow
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi all. I've just joined Treasurenet after spending much time looking at all your finds. The long bit of very rusted, heavy metal (weight, 6 kilos/13 pounds) was found on the shores of Botany Bay, Sydney. It used to be a thriving fishing industry and I'm wondering if this piece could have come from a boat. Any ideas?

g-olden years

Silver Member
Nov 10, 2010
California
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Tracker IV
Welcome to t-net! :occasion16::wav::occasion16: Though there's lots of old iron under the beaches that I detect here in central California, I'm not good at identifying it. Maybe yours is from a boat, maybe part of a dock or a fish cannery if there were any canneries there in the past like there used to be on our coast. Have Fun! :icon_thumright: Andi

OP
OP
V

viv poly

Aug 27, 2014
banksmeadow
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks, Andi. The beach I found this on/under used to be a fishing village from the early part of Australia's settlement. Captain Cook first came into Botany Bay in 1770, the First Fleet arrived 1788 and a few decades after that the area was known as Booralee Fishing Village. Tanneries and wool wash industries thrived in the area, so perhaps my metal finds were something to do with these industries. I just like the look, shape and feel of them and I'm dead curious about what they are. I've tried cleaning the metal to see if I could get a shine but the colour in the picture above is how it was found and how it will stay.

Ahab8

Gold Member
Oct 15, 2013
Topsham, Maine
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Teknetics T2 SE w/15' SEF Coil/ Minelab GPX 4500/2 Garrett Pro Pointers/3 Sets Killer B Headphones/ Koss Headphones/ Detekniy Wireless headphone Adapter
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting