Sweeping Across America~ Went Out Today

Oct 31, 2015
Charleston, WV
Detector(s) used
Whites Classic 5ID, Minelab E-Trac
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello everyone,

I am not new to the metal detecting world. I have been detecting since I was at least 11 years old. I now have a White's Classic 5ID and a Minelab E-Trac. I hope you all enjoy my first post.

So I went to St.Albans, West Virginia today to try and hunt this football field that I've had my eye on for awhile. I went on Google Earth and did some map overlays and saw that it has been there for quite some time! To my dismay, the field was locked up tight with a fence and chain for every gate. I noticed though, a small practice field that looked like it used to be a baseball field of some sort. Maybe it's somewhere were they did everything, soccer, baseball, football and marching band warm-ups.

I first detected with my E-Trac, I had messed around with the setting the day before. Realizing that I have been using too much discrimination. I found a few coins with it but was finding a lot of junk also. I switched over the the White's for a little while. Still finding trash that sounded like coins. The ground was so dry it was hard to keep the plugs together and I worried about someone asking me what I was doing and seeing all these not so well put together holes all around me. I decided it was best to come back on a wetter day.