Jan 2, 2005
Western PA
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
CTX 3030
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
1816 large cent - not exactly a rarity, but I'm considering it a significant find for me for a couple of reasons. I moved from the Etrac to the CTX in February or so and haven't been able to hunt much with it yet so I'm still learning every single time I pick it up. One of the reasons I wanted to get it this year was because of how much quicker it is in processing than the Etrac and how much better it allegedly handled iron. I have a site that I figured would be the ultimate test of "I'll be impressed if it can pick up anything here I haven't already found". It's a colonial site that I've pulled about a dozen coins dated from 1794 through the early 1900s last year. I haven't dug a coin out of it in 11 months and have been over and over and over it. The square nails there are so thick that you can run the pinpointer across the ground on minimum sensitivity and pick up nails at the surface. No coin I've ever dug there has been deeper than 4" and I know the iron was masking the coins that were undoubtedly still there. I have been on that site with the CTX three times now and managed to squeak out this coin tonight at 3". I'm learning lots of stuff along the way, and I feel this is progress.

Attachments

• 1816 LC 2.jpg
    1816 LC 2.jpg
    737.2 KB · Views: 102
Upvote 17
Oct 5, 2014
Massachusetts
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Garrett: AT Pro, AT Gold & Infinium; Minelab: Explorer SE, II; Simplex; Tesoro: Tejon & Outlaw; White's: V3i
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Congratualtions! Keep up the good work; learning a new machine can be frustrating at times, but well worth the effort! :occasion14:

ScubaDetector

Silver Member
Mar 1, 2016
Port Huron MI
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
2 Fisher CZ-21's 8 and 10" coils
Tesoro Tiger Shark 8 and 10" coils (Interchangeable)
Minelab E-Trac with Sun Ray Probe