Silver Washington, 3 Wheat Pocket Spill & Flat Button; Omega Does Not Disappoint.....

Garrett424

Silver Member
Jun 20, 2014
Granite, Maryland
Detector(s) used
Teknetics Omega 8000
Teknetics Delta 4000,
Deteknix XPointer,
Fiskar's Big Grip Digger & my old Army Trench shovel for the tough jobs
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Silver Washington, 3 Wheat Pocket Spill & Flat Button; Omega Does Not Disappoint.....

So I went back to my pounded field after work for a quick hunt. Not fifteen minutes in I got one of those beautiful high hits and dug a nice 1957 silver Washington.....

1957 Washington Quarter, 3 Wheat Sill & Flat Button April 8 2016 001.JPG 1957 Washington Quarter, 3 Wheat Sill & Flat Button April 8 2016 002.JPG

Well that find automatically made it a good hunt so I was happy no matter what happened afterward. I almost can't believe I've been hunting this site for two years and missed this one. It was only maybe 4 inches down in an area I've swung over 100 times.

So as usual I wandered around, dug some trash, pull tabs and a little clad. Just before dark I got a really bouncy hit which I always dig 'cause you just never know what might turn up.

I lifted the plug and saw another hunk of can slaw. I moved it and re checked the hole. I was now getting super high hits. I was hoping for silver but instead, I realized I had come across an old Wheatie pocket spill UNDER the can slaw which explains the bouncy signal. There's a 1920, a 1941 and a 1936. They're in rough shape but as I've mentioned before, the soil in my area is quite unkind to copper. One of them is perfectly smooth on the reverse.

So then; not two feet from the Wheatie spill I dug an old flat button.....

1957 Washington Quarter, 3 Wheat Sill & Flat Button April 8 2016 003.JPG