Gold Member
Jul 27, 2015
Port Allegheny, Pennsylvania
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
E-trac, Excalibur, XP Deus, & CTX 3030.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Sometimes it doesn't take much to make me happy. Yesterday's hunt is what I'm talking about. I took the DEUS to an old park that has given up some nice silver coins in the past. I'm still learning about the DEUS and it's different capabilities. It has 4 different frequencies that you can run it in. (If you want to install your own program.) It also comes with 10 different programs that run on different frequencies. It is important for me to remember which frequency I'm running on. If I change the frequency, I change the I.D. numbers of the target.
(Same Target, Different Frequency, Different I.D. Number)
My second target of the hunt, gave me a deep 84 as well as a 92. Separately, this would be an Indian Head Penny, and/or a silver dime. There was also a 98. That number indicates iron. I was able to isolate the 92 target which led me to believe that I had multiple targets. Only one way to find out. Out of the 8 to 10 inch hole comes 3 pennies. An 1899 Indian Head, and 2 Wheat Pennies, (13 & 17). I rechecked the hole with my Garrett Carrot and then my pile of dirt. Sure enough, out of the pile came a 1911 Barber Dime. Also in the pile was an old rusted pocket knife. That explains the "98" signal. I stayed on that hill for at least another hour. I did manage to pull a crusty, no date Buffalo Nickel that has a nice gash in it and a crusty button that is soaking in oil. Other than that, it was time to move on.

IMG_4324.JPG IMG_4320.JPG

IMG_4319.JPG IMG_4318.JPG

IMG_4322.JPG IMG_4321.JPG

Never knew that it would only take 13 cents to give me a smile from ear to ear.

Last edited:
Upvote 29

Texas Ed

Bronze Member
Feb 5, 2016
Texas Gulf Coast
Detector(s) used