Old Foundation

bigmac58

Mar 24, 2007
Parkersburg, WV
Detector(s) used
White's Classic ID
I'm new to md'ing and really enjoy it. I like searching for coins, but have only dug a couple wheat's, no silver yet. Growing up a friend and me were walking on his dad's property when I saw an old foundation and dug well. Since I started this hobby I've wanted to search that area. I saw his dad yesterday and he told me I could drive right up to it and search it whenever I wanted. Sounds like open-ended permission to me. Since I haven't had much luck finding any silver (I've searched where silver should be) can you offer any advice on how to conduct this hunt? All advice is appreciated!

Thanks,

Jeremy

Upvote 0

Ron B

May 11, 2007
Trinidad, Colorado
Hello Jeremy!
Welcome to the world of MD'ing!

Anytime I search a "promising" new area, I hunt slow and methodically. Once I find a good target (old) I begin digging any interesting sound, making one large circle around the initial find. If I find more, I search much more attentively usually changing to a larger coil if lack of trash permits.

GRB

halfdime

Silver Member
Oct 31, 2006
Zelienople
Detector(s) used
White's XLT
Take your time, be thorough; if you're the first to hunt the site, you might do pretty well. Good luck and welcome aboard.

ModernMiner

Gold Member
Jan 9, 2007
North Carolina
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Minelab Manticore , Tesoro Silver uMax
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome Jeremy.
What kindf of detector are you using?
Congrats on getting an old spot to hunt. You'll uncover quite a bit I'm sure. I've been hunting one farm spot for 6 months now and still uncover old relics and coins about every week.
Keep at it,
MM

SHERMANVILLE ILLINOIS

Gold Member
May 22, 2005
Primary Interest:
Other
bigmac58,

no recommendations. Just get out there
and have a good time. Do it your way. ;) ;D

What ever you do, don't make it seem like work.
Enjoy everything in the area.