My very first silver coin! 1899 Barber Half Dollar!

DiamondDan

Apr 21, 2016
Robbinsdale, MN
Detector(s) used
White's M6; Tesoro Compadre; Minelab E-trac; Bounty Hunter QD2
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Holy crap, I am excited! I usually get out detecting every other day for a few hours and several hours in the morning on Saturday and Sunday. I guess I've been detecting pretty regularly for about six months, and have made some great finds, but I have been dying to dig a silver coin.
Well, today I finally did!

Hit a new spot with a whole bunch of crumbling building foundations. Boy, is it trashy! I spent the first couple hours digging iffy high and mid tones, and mostly came up with copper wire and heavily corroded nails. I was making my way back to the car, sweeping right along side an old foundation, and I got a rare solid high tone right about 95. I thought for sure it was another nail. I about loaded my pants when I saw the black coin pop out of the ground! I knew it was good!

I wanted to clean it up a bit without scratching it, so I lightly washed it in a nearby puddle. The black junk started coming right off. Wow! What a find. I am very happy! I have a feeling I'm onto a good location. Thanks for looking!

20160930_124018.jpg
20160930_124040.jpg
20160930_125205.jpg
20160930_125213.jpg

Upvote 40

Gridwalker306

Gold Member
Nov 10, 2010
Canada
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus, ATPro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Great way to break into the silver, big congrats!

cjon455

Gold Member
Jun 4, 2012
Northeast PA
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Minelab Etrac
Garrett Propointer
Garrett Propointer-AT
Sampson T handle shovel
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hell of a 1st!, congrats! !

toasted

Silver Member
Jun 1, 2015
Maryland
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 600 XP Deus
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting