14k Italy marked necklace

Sutton

Tenderfoot
Jan 2, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello everyone. I am very new to treasure hunting. I recently took a job at a car wash and in my duties I have to clean out the vacuum system. Well today I found a gold necklace. It is 24" and is stamped 14k Italy on one clasp. It weighs 26.5 grams and is not attracted to a magnet. I have read a lot on the internet about these being fake but my question is I guess can you tell by the stamp if it is fake or not? In my opinion it looks lasered instead of stamped. If anyone has had any history with these I would liven your input before I go running into a jewelry store thinking I have something nice when I don't. IMG_0840.JPG IMG_0839.JPG

Upvote 6

ScubaDetector

Silver Member
Mar 1, 2016
Port Huron MI
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
2 Fisher CZ-21's 8 and 10" coils
Tesoro Tiger Shark 8 and 10" coils (Interchangeable)
Minelab E-Trac with Sun Ray Probe
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Don't run, just go to one and politely ask them if it is real. They will gladly tell you. Or you can walk into a pawn shop and ask them. Most gladly test things.

Since you tried a magnet, make sure it is a very powerful magnet like a hard drive magnet. Not a cheap or weak refrigerator magnet.

I have an opinion by the photo, however it would only be an opinion and might or might not be right.

vpnavy

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jun 15, 2008
York County, PA (USA)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
tn_md.gif
I noticed this was your very first post Sutton - so, Welcome Aboard! You didn't list your state (or country) in your profile. So, you might consider jumping over to Sub-Forums: Select Your Area.... and selecting location information (i.e., clubs, hunts, finds, legends, maps, etc.) directly related to your state (or country).

OP
OP
S

Sutton

Tenderfoot
Jan 2, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting