First Hunt - Silver, Button, and Coin Spill

Kentuckiana Jones

May 19, 2017
KY
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey all,

Just got a metal detector (cheap Harbor Freight to see if I enjoy the hobby). Went on my first hunt for a couple of hours on a relative's property. The house was built around mid 60's and store next door maybe 50's so I knew not to expect much. Was hoping to find maybe a silver dime or quarter at best.

After digging a couple of pull tabs and turning up the discrimination to eliminate them ( I'm just learning but don't want to dig everything here as the store was a grocery.) Ended up finding 3 clad quarters, a 1944 silver quarter, a Great Seal military button, and my first "coin spill". The spill was a dime and 6 pennies clad. Also, some other trash.

The back of the button is a third gone so I didn't bother with a photo of it. You can make out "Scovil" and the "Water" in waterbury. I looked it up in another thread here.

Was happiest with my first silver. Thanks for looking.

(Edit to add) What is the best way to clean up the button with what I might have in the house?

first silver.jpg

Lee

Upvote 13

Steve in PA

Gold Member
Jul 5, 2010
Pittsburgh, PA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Fisher F75, XP Deus, Equinox 600, Fisher 1270
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Good first hunt. A silver quarter on your first hunt is enough to set the hook.

Carolina Tom

Gold Member
Apr 4, 2014
Charlotte
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus V3.2 9" & 11" Coils, AT Pro, ProPointer AT, Lesche 55, 75 & 80LT
Primary Interest:
Other
That's good for hunt #1. it took me several months to find the first silver coin.

I use a toothbrush, soap and water on the Great Seal buttons I find. If you find older buttons, I would NOT do them that way though.

Best of luck to you sir!

Stretch Da Truth

Bronze Member
Jan 13, 2017
Detector(s) used
XP Déus & a Carrot!
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Congrats on a Silver your first time out! :occasion14: