Cut-Out lady liberty copper 1 cent braided hair

DIG ADK MTN

Jun 17, 2017
Vernon Center, NY
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Just found this a few hours ago. It was about 8 inches deep and a few yards away from 2 Spanish silver reales. I live in upstate NY not far from Gerrit Smith and the Underground Railroad. I believe it is a bust of a 1 cent braided hair that was "cut-out" of the coin, just my speculation. I tried doing some research but didn't really find anything on this other than slave coins. I really don't know much about it and can't get much detail off the bust!

Attachments

• IMG_0373.JPG
    IMG_0373.JPG
    541.8 KB · Views: 139
  • IMG_0372.JPG
    IMG_0372.JPG
    620.3 KB · Views: 180
Upvote 13

Argentium

Gold Member
Feb 2, 2008
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Detector(s) used
Whites, MXT.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
That is very interesting ! Any chance you can get some cleaned up shots of the edges ? I'm a jeweler and typically that sort of cut out would make use of a drill bit and a " piercing saw " . I'm curious to know if saw marks are discernable ? At 8 inches down it's easy to think that this is 100 years old ( but maybe not)

Kurios1

Silver Member
Feb 25, 2017
FEMA REGION 5 North Central Illinois
Detector(s) used
Nokta Impact Whites DFX 300 & M6 Matrix, Minelab Explorer II (2), Makro Red Racer & Racer 2, Garrett AT Pro.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
That gal certainly does look familiar. It would have been a pretty intense job cutting that out of a coin back in the day. It's definitely possible though. Way cool find for sure.

OP
OP
D

DIG ADK MTN

Jun 17, 2017
Vernon Center, NY
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
I will work on getting a better close up using a different camera with macro. Thanks!

wagbert

Mar 29, 2008