Silver Member
Jan 31, 2015
Baltimore, Maryland
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Fisher F75
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
One site I have been hunting for almost two years has yielded numerous pre-1900 and some pre-1800 coins. At just under 150 acres, there are about 10 acres fenced pasture for goats and sheep; this is inaccessible for detecting. Another 10 acres or so is dedicated to office space, greenhouses, barns and horse ring. Much of the land is under crops at present and off limits for detecting until winter.

What remains to detect at present are mowed grass strips around field perimeters. The site does not yield many coins.

Prior to this evening's hunt I had found an 1869 shield nickel on the eastern half of the property on 7/7/18. It rang up a 12 strong mid-tone on the Equinox 600. Today I got another of those strong 12s and again, at a depth less than 4 inches, another shield nickel. That is back-to-back shields from this property.

IMG_6558.JPG IMG_6561.JPG This one appears to be an 1868.

I kept hunting the same field edge and about 21 paces further along I got an consistent 28-31 high-tone which turned out to be a copper, not sure if it's British or a State coin, but enough detail remains to show an obverse with right-facing figure and Britannia on the reverse.

IMG_6568.JPG IMG_6567.JPG

Upvote 28

Truth

Gold Member
Apr 13, 2016
Abita Springs La....Born in New Orleans
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
EQUINOX 800
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Congratulations on the Shield Nickel and other finds. The Shield Nickel was on my bucket list for years and I got one the year with rays and you have 2!! Congratulations again

OP
OP
McCDig

McCDig

Silver Member
Jan 31, 2015
Baltimore, Maryland
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Fisher F75
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting