smallfoot

Bronze Member
May 29, 2019
Flawda
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Bounty Hunter Tracker IV
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi guys and gals! Little back story. These are a few items I've found detecting along my driveway in the last month. I'm near a major river here and I have some knowledge of the history around here. I'm about a mile away from an old hotel that operated late 1800s to early 1900s. The jist of it is the hotel offered hunting and fishing excursions to people traveling the paddle wheelers that traveled the river. They'd get off the boats and go by wagon to the hotel and from there they hunted and fished. I have been here for 28 years. I have never been able to prove it by any other means that there were dwellings here, although I have found a well, some indications of brick and way too many other indicators with the metal detectors. We don't have cellars here unless you want an indoor swimming pool. You have to look for foundation rocks, blocks or bricks from a chimney. My driveway turns out to be one of the major trails to one of the only roads around here at the time. These are just a few. I'll do more later. I'm pitifully behind on taking pix. I can vouch for the hunting in this area. I've got enough firearm related relics to open a hardware store.....remember when you could buy ammo there? Please enjoy! more later...

Attachments

• 102_0298.JPG
    102_0298.JPG
    236.8 KB · Views: 145
  • 102_0301.JPG
    102_0301.JPG
    352 KB · Views: 105
  • 102_0302.JPG
    102_0302.JPG
    303.4 KB · Views: 130
Upvote 20
OP
OP
smallfoot

smallfoot

Bronze Member
May 29, 2019
Flawda
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
more evidence of a building site: found around the area of the well. I used to have permission on the ground here but until I reach out to the new owners I'm out of this area. I can do the road. I'd like to dig the well.