Found a few goodies detecting here in Alabama!

James in Alabama

Jun 27, 2007
Lincoln, AL
Detector(s) used
Minelab SE with Sunray X1 Probe and Whites XLT E Series
Hello Folks!

Well, it's been a while since I last posted any finds on the forum. Decided to wait and post the coins found on the old army fort the last three weekends. Nothing too old compared to some of the older coins folks have been been finding on this forum, but it sure beats finding nothing at all :D The fort I am referring to is located NE of Birmingham, Alabama where I've been detecting for the last five years on the weekends. I've pulled some nice coins out of the ground on the fort and usually find a silver coin or two just about every time I go. Here's the latest finds :)

10-06thru10-07-07and10-13-07find-1.jpg

Reverse
10-06thru10-07-07and10-13-07find-2.jpg

Wanting to hunt a different area other than the fort this past Saturday, I met up with a few of my detecting buddies, Eddie and Gary at an old park in the Birmingham area. Eddie was the only person to find an old coin that day in the park. An 1896 "V" nickel :o This nickel was a first and the oldest coin found to date for him. Congrats Eddie! ;) I didn't get a chance to take any pics of the nickel, but did take a few pics of the park we hunted ;)

DSC022741.jpg

DSC022761.jpg