1st Time Detecting - Outer Banks, NC Disaster

UNCC-49ER

Oct 28, 2007
Virginia
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Discovery 2200
Hello to everyone! This is my first time posting at TreasureNet. I went to the Outer Banks this weekend with a loaner Bounty Hunter Discovery 2200 from a fellow co-worker who wanted me to try my hand at metal detecting. I have to admit I have always been interested in the hobby. This was my first time ever doing any kind of detecting. I spent about 2 hours total on the beach in Nags Head, NC and only had 5 good hits. Don’t laugh to hard. Looks like I have a lot of learning to do. If anyone has any advise they would like to pass on please do. I need all the help I can get!

Attachments

• Finds.JPG
    Finds.JPG
    72.9 KB · Views: 1,104
Upvote 0

rommelvon

Jul 21, 2007
Welcome, Ya just gotta keep diggin man, if I had a penny for every pulltab and beer cap I found I could buy a corvette....lol...the treasure is out there.....ya just gotta find a machine you can become part of and learn it well, and ya gotta detect as much as possible.......this is the only hobby I know of that pays ya back.....I'm in NC also...Wilmington

Ima Swinger

Apr 8, 2007
Porter, Texas
Detector(s) used
ACE 250 - VibraProbe
Best advice from me would be to not get discouraged. Keep at it, because we all find that junk. One thing to remember is that you will dig more junk than good stuff....we all do. Go out and get yourself a decent starter machine (the ACE 250 seems to be the best starter). Learn your machine, and have a great time. You'll find that there are people on here who find a lot of stuff, and some who don't find a lot. Set your own pace. There are some helpful folks here that don't mind answering questions.

Good luck, and post your finds. :)

Ima Swinger

Tinman

Jul 5, 2007
South Carolina
Detector(s) used
XP Deus 2, 9" Coil
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting