Just back from my first hunt!

bogside

Greenie
May 6, 2005
Minneapolis, MN
Well, I'm just back from my very first hunt. I guess it was fairly successful, being that I am a complete novice and all...

I live a block away from the local junior high so I went there to check out their volleyball courts and softball diamonds. I am using an ACE 250 and the manual says start with soft sandy ground to get used to digging holes. I'm fairly certain that this location has been hunted frequently before---all that lovely nice sand and not a SINGLE target. The only thing I found there was the top of an old rusty aluminum can while I was walking between courts. I happened to have my coil to the ground and it went off! Beginner's luck I guess. I even broke the cheapo digging tool that Kellyco sent me with my ACE digging the thing! What an auspicious start.

So, after that it was off to Home Depot for a decent trowel. After buying one I went to another park nearby with a playground. It was covered with woodchips so I figured that would be a good place to practice my digging techniques. As soon as I put my coil down I got a strong signal! I am going to need a lot of practice with digging the right holes, etc. but this one was easy! I found a kid's toy train car about 1" down. Nice! That explained why the target seemed huge when I tried to pinpoint it... It was coming up as a dime on my display and that was a little confusing!

After searching around the bench for a bit (parents drop change while watching their kids, right?) I tried the swings. Bam! Found a nice clad dime. 2000 D, my very first coin find. I think I'll frame it. ;D I then found a few clad pennies and an old pop tab. That was about it, but I'm excited that I didn't come up completely empty my first go-round!

I'd post pics but they really aren't that exciting... haha I think my neighborhood is too new to find any decent old stuff. Going to have to hit the library to find some area history to sink my teeth into...