1953 10k class ring.....now what?

WheatbackDigger

Jul 8, 2005
Detector(s) used
Etrac
A little help from anyone. First things first. I am very new to this. This was my third or fourth trip out. Maybe 8 or 9 hours of detecting. To my surprise, I found this 10k gold class ring from 1953 along with a few wheat pennies from the late forty's early fifty's. The park was established in the mid 50's (no big surprise here). Now back to the ring, it has the initials of the school and the person it belongs to. Now the school is in the adjacent town and it appears to belong to a female. (Quite small in ring size). If my calculations are correct, this female would be around 70 and most likely have a married last name. I am going to make my best effort to find the original owner. My question to you guys, would you go the extra mile to return this? Or just let things be?

New guy is who just curious

Well heres my "today's find" (sorry the pic is blurry, maybe I can find a better camera

Attachments

• ring.JPG
    ring.JPG
    12.5 KB · Views: 515
Upvote 0

Getty

Bronze Member
May 1, 2005
Maryland
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
MXT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Yes ,I would do everything that I could to return it.Kharma does exist.Just imagine the joy it it would bring you if you were in her shoes and she retuned it to you after a long absence.Thats just my 2 cents.

OP
OP
W

WheatbackDigger

Jul 8, 2005
Detector(s) used
Etrac
Northwest Illinois, I've read stories where schools won't give out information. ?It's a private school also, so I am sure that avenue is out. ?I've lived in this community for 39 years, so finding a 1953 yearbook shouldn't be a problem. ?The problem is, it would be her maiden name, so more research would be the involved to find her married name. ?She may even have passed on. ?52 years is long time to be out of school. ?

jopher

Bronze Member
Jul 20, 2003
Mid Michigan
Detector(s) used
IDX Classic SL-x2....Excalibur1000