Welcome guest, is this your first visit?
Discoveries

Like Tree15Likes
  • 7 Post By Terry Soloman
  • 1 Post By toddbbq
  • 1 Post By lookingharder
  • 3 Post By Loco-Digger
  • 1 Post By pepperj
  • 1 Post By pepperj
  • 1 Post By jeff-gordon

Thread: Combat vs Driving to Work - Which is More Dangerous?

« Prev Thread | Next Thread »
    Charter Member
    us
    Make America Great Again!

May 2010
    White Plains, New York
    Tesoro Cult Member - Mojave; ; Lobo Super Traq; - Minelab GPZ 7000; Equinox 600
    15575 times
    Metal Detecting

Combat vs Driving to Work - Which is More Dangerous?

The road is dangerous. Your enemy is watching you, waiting for your slightest mistake - for that one moment you become complacent or distracted as you move through the battlefield. Your life is in jeopardy, with very real life and death consequences. Are you in Iraq? Afghanistan? No. You are in your family car on the way to the grocery store for a carton of milk.

As a combat veteran, I think about a lot of stupid stuff when I'm driving around town, and I SEE a lot of stupid, life-threatening, stuff. A lot of drivers are simply in denial when it comes to motor vehicle accident statistics. They drive about town with a cell phone or super-sized drink in one hand, and the wheel of their car in the other. Other drivers rationalize the danger putting on their makeup in the rearview mirror or, rocking out to music from an audio system more suited to a small concert hall.

Statistically, you are more likely to be killed or injured in your family car, than soldiers who are on combat duty in Iraq, or Afghanistan. Are you shocked? You shouldn’t be. An average of 40,000 Americans die on our city streets and national highways every year. Hundreds-of-thousands more are paralyzed, crippled, brain damaged, maimed and injured.