Combat vs Driving to Work - Which is More Dangerous?

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
The road is dangerous. Your enemy is watching you, waiting for your slightest mistake - for that one moment you become complacent or distracted as you move through the battlefield. Your life is in jeopardy, with very real life and death consequences. Are you in Iraq? Afghanistan? No. You are in your family car on the way to the grocery store for a carton of milk.

As a combat veteran, I think about a lot of stupid stuff when I'm driving around town, and I SEE a lot of stupid, life-threatening, stuff. A lot of drivers are simply in denial when it comes to motor vehicle accident statistics. They drive about town with a cell phone or super-sized drink in one hand, and the wheel of their car in the other. Other drivers rationalize the danger putting on their makeup in the rearview mirror or, rocking out to music from an audio system more suited to a small concert hall.

Statistically, you are more likely to be killed or injured in your family car, than soldiers who are on combat duty in Iraq, or Afghanistan. Are you shocked? You shouldn’t be. An average of 40,000 Americans die on our city streets and national highways every year. Hundreds-of-thousands more are paralyzed, crippled, brain damaged, maimed and injured.

If you are not taking your daily drive to work as seriously as a combat soldier going out on patrol in Afghanistan, then your chances of being killed or wounded are very high, and very real. Think about that the next time you “gear up” for a drive to the supermarket. - Terry :skullflag:

toddbbq

Apr 13, 2014
Lutz FL
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used