Tesoro Tiger Shark and a pinpointer? Need tips!

underwater

Tenderfoot
Nov 28, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I want to get into metal detecting. I also enjoy scuba diving, so I would love to combine both.
I need a decent all round detector so that I can try out metal detecting before I go and buy a Minelab Excalibur II :tongue3:

I will detect on land, freshwater and saltwater. And because I'm new to this I don't know which will be my main area in the future.

After googeling and reading online I'm leaning towards a Tesoro Tiger Shark (10.5" coil). Any comments on that? Reasons I should think about another one?
It's a good price range and seem to work fine in my 3 areas.

I would also like to buy a good (not too pricey) pinpointer. Here I have no idea what to pick though, any recommendations?

Appreciate any feedback I can get!

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Wilcome.PNG As good as the TIGER SHARK is, it was not my go to saltwater detector. Sure it has a salt mode but that only worked at some locations and not others. The 10" coil is not the best for dry land like parks but is good for dry sand. It excels in freshwater however in either Fast or Slow mode. To do salt water diving a multi frequency unit like a Excal or CZ-20/21 is preferred. The CZ is built like a tank and I never had to sent it in for repairs nor the Tiger Shark. Salt water users also like Pulse units like the Sand Shark for extreme depth but lack good disc. Flies and Baits 044.jpg Flies and Baits 065.gif

OP
OP
U

underwater

Tenderfoot
Nov 28, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thank you for the welcoming and for the reply! :)