Informal Poll...Arrested or cited for metal detecting.

rjsupersonic

Aug 5, 2011
Detector(s) used
Sand Shark /10.5 Fisher F75LTD, X-Terra 705 Garrett AT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I've been metal detecting since the mid seventies, I have heard stories of people getting arrested or cited for detecting but have never talked to anyone who actually has. I would like to ask this question: Have you ever been arrested or cited for metal detecting? Not warned or kicked out of a park by employees but actually arrested and or cited, first hand information only please. I would venture to say it will be very few or none at all.I might also add that I'm a retired officer and never observed anyone get cited or arrested in the three different departments that I worked at. So anyone?

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2
Good question supersonic. Because anytime questions of detecting public land comes up (even innocuous places with no rules prohibiting!), a few are sure to post fears we're supposed to leery of: "Getting arrested" "tickets" "confiscations" "jail", and so forth. Yet when you press those people of examples of such things, few are ever forthcoming. And if any examples ever ARE given, they are invariably someone night-sneaking an obvious historic monument, or someone who couldn't take a warning, etc...

I'm as BRAZEN as they come, and have been so for 35+ yrs. of this. And I have never faced anything more than scrams.