Just found this sub and have a question.

JainJude

Jul 17, 2019
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey this sub popped up as one I might like. I'm guessing the reason is me and my son(7) recently got into rock collecting. We love it and go out looking when ever we can.

Now here's the question first were in the fingerlakes region of NY lots of stuff to find. As a landscaper I know I find a ton of random stuff. So would this hobby tie in good with our trips. Here's some issues to consider. We(I) carry a back pack we usually bring just a hammer and a masons chisel to keep weight down. I'm recovering from neck surgery and can get around fine. However a 50lb pack is still a litte much for right now lol. So how much weight would be added to our kit. Also we run a lot of gullies fossils are big here. So would a detector survive this. Would it even be usefull in these areas? Also how much would I be looking at money wise to get us started. Rember workers comp not rich lol. We do rock collecting cause It can be done cheap when I have to. Also if I have a little extra then we can do more. Also I'm a conservation grad so this is a great teaching tool. Would this be a better hobby to do more as a separate hobby? I'm wondering of by trying to do both at the same time, it would just end in bad results for both hobbies. Thanks for any info it dose look like a cool hobby.

cudamark

Gold Member
Top Banner Poster
Mar 16, 2011
San Diego
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus 2, Equinox 800/900, Fisher Impulse AQ, E-Trac, 3 Excal 1000's, White's TM808, VibraProbe, 15" NEL Attack, Mi6, Steath 920ix and 720i scoops, TRX, etc....
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting