Comments on new legislation for relic hunting in KY?

epi-hunter

Nov 1, 2005
Detector(s) used
Minelab E-Trac
Hi... I am a 43 year old female who just moved to KY (Lexington area) from Iowa, so I am new to MD'ing in this state and have been researching the detecting laws here. I love MD'ing and I usually post at metaldetectingforum.com but I do read and follow this forum also.

In a forum on that site I was recently made aware that there is legislation pending in KY to require a permit for all digging, even on private property. This was also noted in the most recent issue of W&E Treasures magazine. And the "permit" required for digging would never be granted unless you were an archaeologist.

The bill focuses on burial mounds and prehistoric artifacts but the way it's worded, it would also cover all digging and metal detecting, even on private property.

I'd be interested to get your input as to how you think that might affect things here in KY. I think I will turn around and move back to Iowa (or any other state) if I have to give up MD'ing :'(

Thanks... any other MD'ing info for a new KY resident would be very welcome :)

OP
OP
epi-hunter

epi-hunter

Nov 1, 2005
Detector(s) used
Minelab E-Trac
Yes, that was my thought too.

After reading some of the back posts here (particularly the one titled "Fayette county"), I'm afraid to even get out of my car with a metal detector in this state. Things were much more laid back in Iowa.

Seems like the penalties for murder and rape are more lenient than those for metal detecting on federal property (or parking on federal property and walking to private property with a metal detector in hand!)

BuckleBoy

Gold Member
Jun 12, 2006
Moonlight and Magnolias
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Fisher F75, Whites DualField PI, Fisher 1266-X and Tesoro Silver uMax
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting