can I claim on my taxes a loss for being robbed

caretaker

Jan 20, 2008
Maine
Detector(s) used
2-XLT, AT Pro, CZ20, E-Trac, Excal II, GTI 1500, 250, BH 101, HH Diver
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Last year some people came into my house and did some work, about 10,000 bucks in gold and silver was removed, they went down in my cellar to turn off the water, and took all my gold and silver I have been saving for 10 years from metal detecting, I didn't notice it was gone for 6 months, because on of my best friends died, and it really shook me up, then I had to look thru my cellar for 2 months, been detecting and bottle hunting for 20 years, so I wanted to make sure I didn't put somewhere and accuse them wrongly, I should have called the Police right away, but hind sight is another thing, this is part of what was taken, thanks

Attachments

• winter13a.jpg
    winter13a.jpg
    59.8 KB · Views: 200

smokeythecat

Gold Member
Nov 22, 2012
Maryland
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I think the first thing you have to do is file a police report.

releventchair

Gold Member
May 9, 2012
Primary Interest:
Other
With evidence of what you had , I'd start by asking my home insurance id I didn't know what was covered.
Some companies want you to have a rider on expensive certain items.

smokeythecat

Gold Member
Nov 22, 2012
Maryland
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Yes, most insurance companies will cover about $1,000 and that's all. Applies to a lot of stuff.

Honest Samuel

Banned
Sep 23, 2015
Connecticut
Detector(s) used
Minelab
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I would like to help, since I purchased many coins from large coins auctions and have invoices. I am deeply sorry and if you found the items in pawn shops, you could not prove that they are yours. SORRY

MidMoTreasure

Jul 2, 2012
Mid-Missouri
Detector(s) used