Karl Von Muellers advice for finding treasure leads

Daryl Friesen

Mar 21, 2003
Vancouver,British Columbia
Detector(s) used
Whites GMT
A long time ago I wrote a letter to Karl Von Mueller asking his advice about where to find information on how to find good treasure leads. Here is what he wrote me in response. Most of my letter to him is misssing. Keep in mind this letter was written in 1987 or so.

vonmuellerletter.jpg

www.spindlequest.com/losttreasure.html

kc7rad

Nov 13, 2005
Daryl,

I may be a noob here, but I focus on one area and read, read, read. I grew up in Mercer County, Illinois; a very rural community on the Mississippi river. It started as a general interest in the Native American history of the place. I found a ton of old documents on-line, including detailed history, plat maps, business and military history.

From that, I have been able to trace nearly all of the old, now extinct, railroad beds and many of the stage lines. I know that there are several towns that are nearly or completely abandoned that used to be fairly active areas of commerce.

With about 75% certainty I have located one of the county's first grist mills long lost to time, several old abandoned homesteads and long abandoned roads. I have read of hermits, rich people with no apparent source of income, distrust in banks, distrust in railroads, bank and store robberies... the list goes on.

Granted, I haven't found a single thing. You see, I live in Las Vegas and found all of this just by searching the internet.

At this point I have at least one fairly good lead and three or four questionable ones.

Guess my suggestion then, would be to read, read, read.

-Ken

Tuberale

Gold Member
May 12, 2010
Portland, Oregon
Detector(s) used
White's Coinmaster Pro
Daryl Friesen said: