Devils Backbone/Tower Rock/Devils Bake Oven IL

E

EarthWalker

I live near the said park of Devils Backbone, I've done online research and discovered it was once a pirate hiding spot (originally called Jenkins Landing) to way-lay boats on the Mississippi, the town adjacent to it is called Grand Tower (IL), there is a beach there, though I've asked around and there hasn't been "detectors" there for years I guess.
Has anyone MD'd there?
I also live across form the Shawnee Nat'l Forest in southern IL, around the area called Trail oif Tears, has anyone MD'd there as well?
I researched the Forest laws and apprently they are o.k. with surface MD-ing but if you have to dig, you need a prospector permit, anyone ever have to get one of those, and is it difficult?

I'm new to the whole MD thing and recently got a used Spectrum Eagle to start out (can't jsutify the elite new units with the wife). I look forward to eharing from anyone, in the meantime I'll be reading slot online here!

lucky1777

Bronze Member
Aug 2, 2005
Illinois
I have never detected those areas. But I would like to welcome you to the site. If you ever come to west central Illinois to hunt give me a PM.

SHERMANVILLE ILLINOIS

Gold Member
May 22, 2005
Primary Interest:
Other
Earth,

welcome to the forum.

Have never detected that area. Could be
interesting, with the history of Illinois. Most
things got started down there.

Camped out in the area, years and years ago.
Interesting area, and should be able to find a
bunch of sites, even if your not allowed to detect,
that would hold historical value.

Remember talking with someone, and take this for what
its worth, (could be just talk), but if you have a shovel
or any type of digging tool, carry a gold pan with you(?).
And you may not need a permit, or be in violation
of the law.

Has to do with that prospectors permit. I'd check out
the permit requirements.

I'm confused. :P

Again, welcome to the site.

have a good un.........

warsawdaddy

Gold Member