llanos del rio

yournewneighbor

Feb 1, 2010
ventura
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
Hey i'm brand new to mding. i think its fun. And i was looking through california ghost towns. if anybody would like to go with me. If anyway wants to check it out together lets do it. Its close to Palmdale right off pearblossom hwy. I have never been so it would take some scouting out. But come on an abandoned town. i dont really know anything about it. It just seems cool. So if you have any info lets hear it.

http://www.ghosttowns.com/states/ca/llanodelrio.html

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2
I've passed by those ruins. But since you're new to this, let me save you some time. For just goofing off, getting out, and taking a stab, no problem. But if you think it's going to be productive (ie.: coins and/or easy pickens), I think you're going to be dissapointed.

For starters, ANY place in those ghost-town type guide-books, are the places to avoid, from the git-go. Anything that is easily researched out like that in readily available "Sunset Home & Gardens" coffee table style "Ghost towns of the West" type books, are sure to be either places turned in to tourist traps, or ...... if they are just crumbling ruins, have been hammered by every Tom Dick & Harry since the dawn of detectors. I mean, go figure, in your neck of So. Ca, there has been no lack of active md'rs combing the ghost towns down there since even the 1960s (bottle diggers) and detecting (all through the '70s and '80s), pulverizing the cr*p out of any easy-to-research spot, that you can just pull over your RV to (visible right on the sides of the road, in this case, so certainly "no secret").