Bonnie Kathie Legend...Any Info?

Oct 6, 2005
Hi everyone,

I am a newbie to the forum and to MD!

I have been practicing here on our old farm and have several areas to check out. We managed to find about .63 cents the other day in change that is not very old, but I know I have alot to learn about the sounds and how to use my new ACE 250

My question is this...I live within 10 miles of a treasure legend . Bonnie Kathis is thought to have had a nice cache on her plantation that has never been found. Now I am new to all of this, but I went to the local library and checked in the history dept. I looked up the surname of Kathie in marriage, death and cemetary records just to pull up nothing at all. Now we live in a small town and supposedly her husband died in 1888 followed by her death in 1904.

Can anyone offer any info on how I would try to verify that this lady lived? The roads have been changed since that time so I cannot go by the original road name. Because I am new to TH I want to be sure I don't sink alot of time in researching a story someone made up... What would you do to verify that a legend is real and not bogus?

Thanks
Julie ;D

Siegfried Schlagrule

Bronze Member
Mar 19, 2003
Indiana
Detector(s) used
All types of BFOs owned. Especially want White's Arrow; White's Oremaster; Exanimo Spartan Little Monster; Garrett contract Little Monster.
The Terry volume covering Tennessee may give you most of the known facts. In all research projects you are attempting to learn the answers to the five Ws - Who - What - When - Where - Why. the more of those you answer the better the chance you have of success. To start you can check the genealogical sites for the existence of the lady. Try on familysearch.org; ancestry.com and genealogy.com. For more recent deaths (since 1934) you can check the Social Security Death Index.
For the location of her farm check the plat book from the year before she died. exanimo, ss

gldhntr

Bronze Member
Dec 6, 2004