Mercury

S

skizip

Hi,

I'm a wildlife filmmaker who heard a story a few months ago about a Spanish ship that sank somewhere near Belize carrying a payload of entirely Mercury. I know that Mercury was used in extracting gold, so there has got to be at least some plausibility. Since mercury levels in the world's ocean are already always a problem for wildlife, finding such a ship could be a great treasure hunting/ environmental mystery sort of story.

Problem is, I don't know if this story is true. Or where to even begin researching. Any suggestions? Please feel free to email me.

Thanks,

Skip
[email protected]

Nov 8, 2004
Alamos,Sonora,Mexico
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
HOLA SKIZIP: Mercury was indeed used for recoveries, hence it was closely controled by the Crown. Since a certain unit of mercury would produce a certain amt of Au or Ag , it was simple to calculate what the taxes shoud be.

The Mercury originally came from the Almaden mines in Spain until deposits were found in the new world. This lends credence to your ship data.

The Chloride process for extacting Ag became popular and the govt also attempted to control the Chloride supplies for the same reason.

Tropical Tramp

D

don Lupe

skizip. the harbor bay of Ensenada BC Mexico is full of mercury, farmers harvesting seaweed for ferterlizer are shaking it off, kids play with it shinny coins, there is a cave at Punta Banda where mercury liquid prime leaks from the ceiling into the bay for hundreds-thousands of years, we here in the south have no problem with this.. you. why worry? for real treasure hunters, there were ship loads of platinum dumped off the coast in the gulf you write of, because conterfit coins were being passed with platinum contaminates for weight..The Spanish ships did the dumping..anybody for high-tech global satalite detecting? don lupe here.

G

Goldendigger68

Somewhere in Arizona there is several iron pipes containing mercury buried