Sublett Mine
Welcome guest, is this your first visit?
Member
Discoveries
 
Results 1 to 13 of 13
Like Tree11Likes
  • 1 Post By ThTx
  • 1 Post By Oroblanco
  • 1 Post By ThTx
  • 1 Post By DeadLizard7
  • 1 Post By ThTx
  • 1 Post By 4girlsinfl
  • 3 Post By DeadLizard7
  • 1 Post By Carlsbad Mike
  • 1 Post By Old Bookaroo

Thread: Sublett Mine

« Prev Thread | Next Thread »
  1. #1
    us
    Dec 2006
    Combine
    Garrett AT Pro, Garrett Master Hunter CX Plus, Teknetics G2
    855
    76 times
    All Types Of Treasure Hunting

    Sublett Mine

    Can anyone tell me if the Lost Sublett mine was found? I think I remember reading somewhere that someone had located wht they thought was the Sublett mine back in 1997 or 1998.

    Of course, I've slept since then and can't remember where I read it or even if I just heard a rumor.

    Any help would be appreciated.
    Rebel - KGC likes this.
    Not all who wander are lost - Some of us are simply confused. (Apologies to J.R.R. Tolkein's memory)

    GARRETT / FISHER / TEKNETICS
    www.anthonysdetectors.com
    anthonysdetectors@live.com
    214-499-2530
    The very best in American made detection equipment!




  2. #2
    um
    Nemo me impune lacesset

    Jan 2005
    DAKOTA TERRITORY
    Tesoro Lobo Supertraq, (95%) Garrett Scorpion (5%)
    7,834
    9735 times

    Re: Sublett Mine

    Greetings ThTx,

    I have never read or heard of anyone claiming to have found the lost Sublett mine. Do you recall where you saw it? Thank you in advance,
    Oroblanco

    PS That would sure be a let-down if someone has found it - I have never gone on a hunt for the lost Ben Sublett mine, did get as far as Odessa once but the danged Jeep chose that spot to crap out and die so ended up NOT looking for that lost mine. If someone did find it, they must have been lucky - remember even Ben's son, who had been to the mine once, failed to find it again.
    Rebel - KGC likes this.
    SUPPORT THE BEEF INDUSTRY - EAT BEEF
    "We must find a way, or we will make one."--Hannibal Barca

  3. #3
    us
    Dec 2006
    Combine
    Garrett AT Pro, Garrett Master Hunter CX Plus, Teknetics G2
    855
    76 times
    All Types Of Treasure Hunting

    Re: Sublett Mine

    Evidently, I was mistaken. You'd think if there had been a report of the finding, EVERYONE on this site would remember it. Must have been just a bad dream!
    Rebel - KGC likes this.
    Not all who wander are lost - Some of us are simply confused. (Apologies to J.R.R. Tolkein's memory)

    GARRETT / FISHER / TEKNETICS
    www.anthonysdetectors.com
    anthonysdetectors@live.com
    214-499-2530
    The very best in American made detection equipment!




  4. #4
    us
    Jason

    Dec 2004
    Roswell, NM
    Minelab CTX 3030 Minelab 705 Minelab Equinox 800
    82
    63 times
    All Types Of Treasure Hunting

    Re: Sublett Mine

    W.C. Jameson the Author of several treasure tale books claims to have found the Sublett Mine. I specifically asked him that question at a talk at our local club meeting last year. He made no hesitation to tell us he had found it years ago. For what it's worth...
    Rebel - KGC likes this.

  5. #5
    us
    Dec 2006
    Combine
    Garrett AT Pro, Garrett Master Hunter CX Plus, Teknetics G2
    855
    76 times
    All Types Of Treasure Hunting

    Re: Sublett Mine

    He didn't happen to give a location, did he? Old Ben would sometimes take a couple of weeks to get more gold and sometimes it was only a few days. Wonder what Mr. Jameson found - mine or chache?
    Rebel - KGC likes this.
    Not all who wander are lost - Some of us are simply confused. (Apologies to J.R.R. Tolkein's memory)

    GARRETT / FISHER / TEKNETICS
    www.anthonysdetectors.com
    anthonysdetectors@live.com
    214-499-2530
    The very best in American made detection equipment!




  6. #6

    Mar 2006
    11
    1 times

    Re: Sublett Mine

    There was an article at least 10 years ago in a treasure magazine where someone claimed to have found it. showed pictures of the finder, says the site was only about 2 miles from a highway. Having some memory of reading the article, the location found and the description provided of the site itself, it does not match what the accepted site is supposed to look like.

    The founder said it was a cave on side of a hill, had pictures, small opening to go into the cave, etc.. whereas the norm site description says of a chasm where you climb down into an open area w/cave at bottom on side of the chasm wall bottom.

    So keep looking... its out there.
    Rebel - KGC likes this.

  7. #7
    us
    Jason

    Dec 2004
    Roswell, NM
    Minelab CTX 3030 Minelab 705 Minelab Equinox 800
    82
    63 times
    All Types Of Treasure Hunting

    Re: Sublett Mine

    That area is riddled full of caves and rock formations. Carlsbad Caverns is not far away. W.C. Jameson made it clear he had found the site of the nuggets but made no reference to a cache. He makes a lot of comments that are meant to mislead in my opinion. If someone were to have found all he claims he would not be selling paperback books at small town club meetings. My 2 cents.

  8. #8

    Jun 2020
    3
    1 times
    All Types Of Treasure Hunting
    where should you start to look. can someone point me in the right direction. I'm in the area. does anyone know what the son remembered?
    Rebel - KGC likes this.

  9. #9

    Apr 2021
    2
    All Types Of Treasure Hunting
    Have recently found out about sublett cave and have become fascinated. I live close by and would love to search the area. Is there any specific place I would start my search ? Any help would be appreciated.

  10. #10
    um
    Dec 2008
    4,093
    3020 times
    I know I'm answering a very old thread.

    W.C. Jameson is hardly a reliable writer. He's in the tradition of F.L. Coffman and Lieut. Harry E. Rieseberg - claiming to be treasure hunters and treasure finders, but not actually doing it.

    I've read a number of Mr. Jameson's books, and they are very hard to believe.

    Good luck to all,

    The Old Bookaroo
    coazon de oro likes this.
    Make America Think Again

    Do you have good books in good condition you are never going to re-read? Clean 'em out!
    Operation Paperback collects gently used books and sends them to American troops.

  11. #11
    um
    Dec 2008
    4,093
    3020 times
    Fredwerd34:

    Start with J. Frank Dobie's Coronado's Children (1930) and Henry Sinclair Drago's Lost Bonanzas (1966) and Lost Mines and Hidden Treasures (1956) by "Leland Lovelace."

    There are dozens of accounts - these three are easy to find and won't set you back a great deal to learn the story. Plus, they are well-written and good reading.

    I believe the yarn is also mentioned in the WPA Guide to New Mexico and to Texas. Experienced treasure hunters long ago discovered these are excellent sources for serious research.

    Good luck to all,

    The Old Bookaroo
    Make America Think Again

    Do you have good books in good condition you are never going to re-read? Clean 'em out!
    Operation Paperback collects gently used books and sends them to American troops.

  12. #12

    Apr 2021
    2
    All Types Of Treasure Hunting
    Thank you Old Bookaroo! I’ll look into those books and see when I have time to plan a trip down there. I live afew hours away, and I hope to find something! Anything even if not the treasure! This will be my first time looking for treasure I’m excited!!

  13. #13
    um
    Dec 2008
    4,093
    3020 times
    Fredwerd34:

    Your first hunt! That's an exciting prospect. There's a good deal of preparation required for a successful expedition. And the first requirement of a successful expedition is that you return in one piece.

    The right equipment, good maps, permission to hunt on private property - all preparation just as important as the sound research.

    Have you read KvonM's Treasure Hunter's Manual - #6 or #7? There's no better guide available. Sadly, both are out-of-print. If you can't find a decent copy of #7 for less than $30 or of #6 (which you really don't need to get started, but it's first-rate) for less than $50, send me a PM and I'll try to assist you in locating one.

    Good luck to all,

    The Old Bookaroo
    Make America Think Again

    Do you have good books in good condition you are never going to re-read? Clean 'em out!
    Operation Paperback collects gently used books and sends them to American troops.

 

 

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.3.0