Eddyville Iowa treasure tale. Could anyone please help determine the exact location?

BeauS

Mar 6, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Buried gold treasure tale. Could anyone please help determine the exact location?

https://sites.google.com/site/nationaltreasuresonline/national/iowa

Looking on Google maps, Crane cemetery is north of along the Des Moines river. It's located on Jason trail, and there is a left turn directly north of the cemetery. I know it's just a tale, but would that be the spot to look? Is it safe for me to check out that area?

I'm new to metal detecting, would have to purchase a detector and pinpointer.

Last edited:

KANACKI

Bronze Member
Mar 1, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hola BeauS

The first thing you should do research more than taking the legend on face value. Establish fact from fiction and then work from there. It might just save you some wasted time and effort in the field.

Kanacki

OP
OP
B

BeauS

Mar 6, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Really, if somebody knew the location, why would they provide it?

That's true. Does that automatically make it invalid? Others would have gotten to it a long time ago?

i know for a fact that it is the Des Moines river that runs through that town. North of is Crane Cemetary located on Jason trail. The trail turns left north of the cemetery and is along the river.

Last edited:

doc-d

Bronze Member
May 19, 2013
Pacific Northwest
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Never assume others would have gotten it already….Senor Kanacki provided some great advice……research will guide you.
Remember that rivers change course, old maps, newspapers, other records are a good start.

KANACKI

Bronze Member
Mar 1, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hola BeauS