Could this be a sign?

Fisher Lou

Greenie
Jul 20, 2009
Old River Winfree, Texas
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Big time newbie here. Had a chance to visit New Mexico to do a little hiking with my Girl Friend and we came arcoss a "marker"? So what do yall think? Is it a sign, marker, or just a pile of rocks? I should mention that it is high up the mountain and it seems to be man made. If so, someone went through alot of effort to place it here.
Thanks.

Attachments

• 064 - Copy.JPG
    064 - Copy.JPG
    188.8 KB · Views: 536
  • IMG_3254 - Copy.JPG
    IMG_3254 - Copy.JPG
    185.5 KB · Views: 549

truckinbutch

Silver Member
Feb 15, 2008
Morgantown,WV
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Landstar
Fisher Lou said:
Big time newbie here. Had a chance to visit New Mexico to do a little hiking with my Girl Friend and we came arcoss a "marker"? So what do yall think? Is it a sign, marker, or just a pile of rocks? I should mention that it is high up the mountain and it seems to be man made. If so, someone went through alot of effort to place it here.
Thanks.
You got a fine lookin sign and a fine lookin GF .

Montana Jim

Gold Member
Sep 18, 2006
Montana
Property marker... maybe. That's an obvious sign and must have been made for very specific and visually necessary reason.

Springfield

Silver Member
Apr 19, 2003
New Mexico
Detector(s) used
BS
Were you in a mineralized area, such as Pinos Altos? This looks like a mining claim corner, possibly a location monument. If so, it's old style (rock cairn). Did you poke around near the base of the big rock? It's possible there is a Prince Albert tobacco can, or something similar for the time period, in the rock pile with a copy of the location papers inside (probably disintegrated by now). There are thousands of these old cairns to be found all over the southwest.

Old Dog

Gold Member
May 22, 2007
Western Colorado
At this point I must agree,
Yes it is a marker.
But it is probably a claim marker, marking one corner of a claim.