Weird Huh? An on a tree..

gertie

Greenie
Apr 8, 2010
This mark was found on an oak tree in south Arkansas. The tree is about 175 years old. The mark is about 17 feet high. I can't see any other marks though I have not checked the saddle of the tree. The tree is near a cemetery. I am new to this so I would appreciate any help. Is this Mother Nature showing off? If so I will move on. If not, I could use lots of help. Realistically how could a mark get that high, even on horse back. Also, what is a blaze? Is is only a chop mark? Looking forward to your help.

Attachments

• front3.jpg
    front3.jpg
    51.8 KB · Views: 692
  • neg3.jpg
    neg3.jpg
    86.7 KB · Views: 681
  • eyear2.JPG
    eyear2.JPG
    107.4 KB · Views: 636
  • eye ruler.JPG
    eye ruler.JPG
    86.6 KB · Views: 626
  • fullladder2.jpg
    fullladder2.jpg
    74 KB · Views: 664

Blind.In.Texas

Bronze Member
Sep 1, 2006
Lone Star State
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to TNET!! Looks like a diamond to me. It got up there just like you did. Trees only grow from the apical meristem (growing tip). Once a mark is made, it will always be at that height (unless the tree falls). The mark can only grow in width as the tree increases in girth. Seems to me like that mark was intentionally hard to find. GL!!

Old Dog

Gold Member
May 22, 2007
Western Colorado
Looks almost like a cyclops owl.

Mike is right, that mark is placed where it is to keep it from being found.
Look aroud a bit more and see if there isn't more trees with marks in the area.

Shortstack

Silver Member
Jan 22, 2007
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Bandido II and DeLeon. also a Detector Pro Headhunter Diver, and a Garrett BFO called The Hunter & a Garrett Ace 250.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
This is a rodent of some kind. Either a rabbit with it's ears laid back or a chipmunk. The diamond shape is it's eye. The large hindlegs say "rabbit" with his ears laid back along his back. I do not see an owl here.

front3.jpg