What is this rock marker??

flip flop

Mar 3, 2010
East of West OhiO
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
I was on a ridge line in the woods of Southern Ohio a couple weeks ago and stumbled across this rock. The rock is about 24" long, 4" wide, and 12 to 16" tall. One side has an "X", the other side has an "+", and the top has an elongated "T". FYI the "X" side faces due East.
Help, it's killing me not to know what it is -- grave stone?? property marker??

Attachments

• Rock1.jpg
    Rock1.jpg
    243.7 KB · Views: 1,006
  • Rock2.jpg
    Rock2.jpg
    267.4 KB · Views: 1,000
  • Rock3.jpg
    Rock3.jpg
    167.5 KB · Views: 965
OP
OP
flip flop

flip flop

Mar 3, 2010
East of West OhiO
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
Old Dog
There are multiple huge trees within 20 yards or so. The trees drew me to the area in the first place....looking for a good place to hang a tree stand for next fall's deer season.
I'm pretty new to this, do you think this area would be worth the time and effort of further site research??
Thanks
Flip Flop

Old Dog

Gold Member
May 22, 2007
Western Colorado
absolutely.
Take the metal detector along as well. look for sunken places such as foundations and bases for old long forgoten buildings.
never know what will turn up.

Springfield

Silver Member
Apr 19, 2003
New Mexico
Detector(s) used
BS
Looks like a land surveyor's marked stone property corner from the old days. Check the County Assessor's tax maps to see if you can correlate the rough location. Positive confirmation would take a lot more time, but could be done if you're curious enough.

OP
OP
flip flop

flip flop

Mar 3, 2010
East of West OhiO
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
Thanks guys!
I'm curious enough to take the pictures to the local historical society on Monday. When finished there I'm going back to the site and study the rock a little closer.....move some debris and look for dates as Old Dog suggested.
Love this site, ya'll rock!!!!!
Flip Flop

Bum Luck

Silver Member
May 24, 2008
Wisconsin
Detector(s) used