Rock Face - Is it all in my head? - 150 year old photo and modern photo

nickatnight

Jan 4, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm new to researching treasure marks and signs, but find it all fascinating. I have this rock formation near me that first drew my eye in an old photograph, circa 1860's. I was able to pull up the area on Google Maps and grab this modern screen capture. This looks very much like a face to me, in both images, as well as being a face with something in its mouth. It's in a rather significant area for settling in California, as well as near by Spanish Missions. Anyone care to chime in? Thanks!

rock-face-comparison.jpg

miboje

Mar 21, 2016
Detector(s) used
Garrett GTA 1000 PowerMaster
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'd go to the location and get some pics in person. Get some close ups and some standing back.

OP
OP
N

nickatnight

Jan 4, 2017
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
So this face leads me to an old stagecoach road. Along the way I push through some brush to get a view of the nearby hillside, and find a very large oval rock to stand on for the best view. The brush was too thick to get a profile view, but there were a few rocks wedged underneath that I could imagine as a head, all being a possible turtle. I stood on the rock, enjoyed the view, but didn't notice anything. I snapped a photo with camera phone and continued up trail. I had to crop and zoom the original photo, as to keep possible landmarks private, but on examination on the computer at home I zoomed in an found what appears to be a mine. Maybe an "X" next to it too. Lots of boulders around it. I would have to hop a fence onto government land to access the area, and on satellite view on Google Maps shows the only trails coming from government side of things. It's remote and inaccessible I'm afraid.

turtle-mine.jpg

And then in the photo I notice to the left on the far mountainside a giant cross. That may need further investigation.