Glass experts? Pontil, applied handle.

batcap

Jun 22, 2010
Baltimore MD
Detector(s) used
AT PRO
You can still see the price in grease pencil, but I got a 25% early-bird discount: $3.56. I'm no glass expert, but I know a pontil mark when I see it, and there's no seam on the applied lip. The applied handle has a decorative flourish at the base where it makes a tiny loop. There are bubbles, but they are really small. Is it old? Where should I start my eBay listing? Thanks for any help! Oh yeah . . . I have two favorite thrift stores, this one is from Value Village.

Attachments

• Priceside.jpg
    Priceside.jpg
    86.5 KB · Views: 417
  • back.jpg
    back.jpg
    83.7 KB · Views: 385
  • Top.jpg
    Top.jpg
    68.9 KB · Views: 377
  • Pontil.jpg
    Pontil.jpg
    144 KB · Views: 379

ANTIQUARIAN

Gold Member
Apr 24, 2010
Upper Canada 🇨🇦
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus, Lesche Piranha 35 Shovel & 'Garrett Carrot'
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Now, don't lose it on me batcap, but I don't think this bottle is as old as it's trying to look. :icon_scratch:
I think it is definitely mouth blown, has a broken pontil on the base, has the applied lip on top and and the curled loop handle but . . .

The age on the base looks artificial to me. It looks like its been applied by mechanical means. :dontknow:

Sorry man, that's just my opinion.
Hopefully somebody else will jump in and prove me wrong! :laughing7:

OP
OP
B

batcap

Jun 22, 2010
Baltimore MD
Detector(s) used
AT PRO
Antiquarian said:
Now, don't lose it on me batcap, but I don't think this bottle is as old as it's trying to look. :icon_scratch:
I think it is definitely mouth blown, has a broken pontil on the base, has the applied lip on top and and the curled loop handle but . . .

The age on the base looks artificial to me. It looks like its been applied by mechanical means. :dontknow:

Sorry man, that's just my opinion.