Painting

Pushing5150

Greenie
Aug 15, 2021
Louisville Kentucky
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I actually found this dumpster diving.. I know that it is an oil on paper on canvas by Maurice Utrillo called Eglise de Banlieue Vers... 16291359338044052601077570758968.jpg 16291359654013373223554461692643.jpg

Mackaydon

Gold Member
Oct 26, 2004
N. San Diego Pic of my 2 best 'finds'; son & g/son
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
Some history about your artist:
[FONT=&quot]Early 20th-century Paris was the chaotic incubator of modern art. Born into this tumult in 1883 as the fatherless son of a former circus acrobat, Maurice Utrillo lived the definition of "La Vie Boheme," a Bohemian life. In his youth, Utrillo's mother encouraged him to pursue art as an antidote to his alcoholism; advice he took enthusiastically. Maurice Utrillo's paintings of cities and landscapes highlight his self-taught skill in Post-Impressionism and Cubism techniques.[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]Maurice Utrillo paintings, prints, and lithographs number in the thousands, but his most popular come from his "white period," named for depictions of plaster walls lining bleached pathways. The value of Maurice Utrillo's prints has only increased since his death in 1955.
Don...[/FONT]

Red-Coat

Gold Member
Dec 23, 2019
Surrey, UK
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to Tnet

It may well be oil on paper on canvas but it’s certainly not by Utrillo. It has nothing which resembles his brushwork and, rather than being a print from the original work, seems to be an effort by an amateur to copy Utrillo’s painting but interpreted in a rather different style.

The original work on which it is based has the full gallery title “Eglise de Banlieue vers 1914” and has been much reproduced as a print, but it looks like this:

Utrillo.jpg

Many of the prints carry an acknowledgement to the Louvre in Paris (shown below), so I assume that’s where the original is.