Hello, got a question about a whites 4900/dl max

Skyeye

Apr 20, 2010
Hello all, I am new to both the m/d world, as well as this site. I picked up a whites 4900/dl max with a blue max 800 precision scan head for 15$ 2 years ago. I never even tried it till a few days ago. Well once I popped the batteries in I was out side.I am no where near unimpressed. Though the "search button" on the handel sticks every now and then, I am pleased with it. My hardest find so far was a 1/4" long by (1/32"?) diameter bolt @ ~ 9 inches. It was extremely small, and I held it in my hand for almost 4 Min's trying to find it.
I went on sunday to a lake near here and found mainly trash, but i did pick up a pair of 50$ sunglasses (women's sadly) as well as a seemingly old .22 short round. It has a triangle with a v inside it, and the dent seem to have come from a revolver rather than a smaller pinned rifle.

Anyway, enough rambling. Here's my few questions.

1. How does this model rate 1-10?
2. What would it best be used for (eg rings, coins relics)?
3. If anyone has experience with these in the south east, any advice on the settings I should use for the red clay in middle Tennessee?
4. Are these units water proof?
5. How much battery life should I expect without headphones?

Thank you all in advance, I am looking forward to this great hobby :laughing9:

dirtsearcher

Nov 18, 2008
Detector(s) used
Minelab Sovereign,Ace 250,White's DFX, custom made waterproof detector