I took the big step.

Sam 8

Jan 23, 2012
Detector(s) used
MXT..it is a Pro, but I am a rookie.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Went down to Big Valley Detectors this morning, met with Larry after a 40 minute phone call yesterday.
I came home with a new MXT Pro, a case, and a digger. Larry set the machine up wiht a 950 coil and I bought a Eclipse DD 6x9 as well.
I got home, and even though my back was killing me I put it together and went out in the yard with the bigger coil on it.
After watching the DVD a few times I got the ground balance sorted out and fiddled around out in the yard. It is obvious my lower yard has a few screw tops in it, (two sons who were once teen agers, what can I saw) and the mineralization of the ground is pretty high.
Before I go out to play tomorrow I am going to swap coils.
This is my first machine, at 53 it is an itch I have needed to scratch for a long, long time.
I am well aware of the fact I have a huge learning curve ahead of me. I plan to enjoy every minute of it.
I also plan to read everything I can find on this machine, and ask a few questions in here.
When I do, be nice. ;D
Everyone starts somewhere. I can rebuild a Holley Carb, a V-8 engine, weld, use a torch, wire a car.
I can learn this, too.
Right?

Looking forward to lots of fun, anyway.

FCCDFEd

Sep 29, 2007
Terra Bella, Ca.
Detector(s) used
DFX, IDXPro, MXT, Lobo St., At Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to the itch that can never be scratched enought. You got a great machine and will have many many years of great satisfaction. Good Luck and HH.

OP
OP
S

Sam 8

Jan 23, 2012
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks...

I have several other itches that have been bugging me for coming on 40 years...cars, boats, etc.