Need a little help on the V3i on pinpointing.

SC_hunter

Bronze Member
Jan 16, 2007
South Carolina
Detector(s) used
Whites V3i,Whites XLT,Ace 250 and BH Tracker IV and Others.....
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello all...it's been awhile since I have been in the mood to do any detecting. A few weeks ago, my son gave me the bug again. I had been using the XLT for about 6 years and since I am about to retire..I figured I would upgrade. Took the plunge on the V3i and took it out for a short run today. I didn't do too bad, one 1943 silver quarter(Washington),old cig lighter and a few more clad. I am just finding it a little hard to hit the right spot on this coil(stock coil). With the XLT, it would be right in the middle....very seldom ever missed. This one, I seem to be as much as an inch or 2 off. I know that doesn't sound like a big deal but would like my holes to be a bit smaller...Geeezzz, we can never be satisfied. Think I will like it. I can adjust to my hearts desire and I have been doing that for sure. So, any advice some of you seasoned V3i owners have, I would appreciate it.

cmcelfish

Sep 18, 2011
Maryland
Detector(s) used
Spectra V3i
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I had the same problem when I got mine. The DD coil right? It stinks ! Changed it to a 950 coil and it has no trouble pinpointing now things are right where it says now!

texjim

Silver Member
Feb 3, 2009
schuylkill county pa.
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
whites xlt,vx3
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
with the dd coil the target is right in front of the ears where the shaft and the coil meet. if you want to get more accurate pin point in two directions straight on and turn 90 degrees. if that makes any sense.. good luck...

wingmaster

Bronze Member
Aug 10, 2009
Detector(s) used
White's MXT all pro, MXT300 D2, 950, 4X6 DD, detech ultimate 13" DD coils
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting