coils for my MXT

avenger9800

Aug 11, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi all, I'm new to metal detecting. I've had my MXT for a few months now, and I'm looking to upgrade my 950 Eclipse coil. So I thought I'd come here for advice on what coils to get. I went to Whites web site, and got a list of coils for the MXT.
1-10"DD coil- d2 10" DD
2- Super 12 search coil
3- eclipse deepscan DD 1400
4- Eclipse shooter DD 4*6
5- Eclipse 5.3 (6*6) search coil
6- Eclipse DD (6*10) search coil
7- MXT MAX 15" search coil.
I would like to order 2 new coils, 1 for deep depth, for speed searching for coins, and one for hunting at a friends property thats a old coal mine town thats just FULL of junk. So if you guys could me some ideas, or experiences you've had, I'd be mighty greatful. Thanks all.

FCCDFEd

Sep 29, 2007
Terra Bella, Ca.
Detector(s) used
DFX, IDXPro, MXT, Lobo St., At Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I use a MXT and a DFX and the best coil I have found for both is the Eclipse DD6x10. The 6x10 is a real good all around coil allowing decent ground coverage, decent depth but also good target seperation in trash areas. I have also used the 5.3 which is a good coil for really trash areas but you lose a little depth. I have also used the Eclipse deepscan DD 1400 which does go a little deeper than than the 950 but using it for any length of time tires my arm out. If you should settle on wanting a DD1400 let me know and maybe we can deal. Over all my thoughts are, at least for me, the best coil is the DD6x10.

Hope this helps.

norbyx

Jun 3, 2012
San Jose
Detector(s) used
Actual: Whites MXT All Pro, M6 and Tesoro Sand Shark

Ex: BH Platinum, Tesoro Lobo, ST & Tejon, Teknetics Delta, Whites MXT, V3i, Dual Field, MX5; DP Wader, Garrett At-PRO, Fisher Gold Bug 2, CZ-70Pro
Primary Interest:
Other