Coinmaster on the beach?

cpgriff1

Tenderfoot
Dec 26, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Happy New Years everyone! I'm a newbie and wanted some opinions on the Coinmaster on the beach on east coast of Florida. It was given to me and it does have a lot of chatter near wet sand. Dry sand it does pretty well. Would I be wasting my time turning the sensitivity low so it doesn't chatter? Or should I try to invest in a VLF or something else. Any thoughts are appreciated thank you.

airscapes

Nov 13, 2013
Philadelphia PA
Detector(s) used
DFX 950, U13,6"Exc & 4x6 Coils, Coinmaster GT 4x6 & NEL Hunter coil, TRX Pin Pointer, CZE-T200 FM Transmitter, Sangean DT-400W and ER6i in-ears.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Is there a beach button on it? If so push it when in wet sand.
If not, contact whites, they had made some of the first units without the beach mode but can provide an update that is user installable. I have not had a chance to use mine on the beach yet, but Phil Myers of Myers metal detectors who is FL has told me it works well.

OP
OP
C

cpgriff1

Tenderfoot
Dec 26, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
The ImageUploadedByTreasureNet.com1420231224.485796.jpg
No beach button. I know it's a cheaper Md but it's all I can afford right now. I just hope if a big storm comes it'll pick up some pieces of eight in wet sand ha! :)

airscapes

Nov 13, 2013
Philadelphia PA
Detector(s) used
DFX 950, U13,6"Exc & 4x6 Coils, Coinmaster GT 4x6 & NEL Hunter coil, TRX Pin Pointer, CZE-T200 FM Transmitter, Sangean DT-400W and ER6i in-ears.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm sorry, I read the title to a post above.. I thought you had the coinmaster GT.
The coinmaster will do fine in the dry sand, all you can do is turn down the sensitivity in the wet salt sand.
The salt water with the sand becomes conductive which is what the metal detector detects.. conductivity.. that is why is make all that noise..