Been detecting for a week or so with the TREASUREpro. Have some questions

killeraxemannic

Greenie
Sep 14, 2015
Detector(s) used
Whites TREASUREpro, Garrett Ace 150
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I am new to metal detecting so forgive me if these are things that are common knowledge.

1: Most targets seem to only ding with a swing to the left unless the target is really shallow. If I swing the coil back and forth over a target that I have a pretty good idea of where it is I only get the ding when going left. Right is usually silent. Is this normal?

2: Targets that are deep don't seem to ID correctly. I burred a few coins in our garden around 8 inches deep or so and the ID seems to jump around a lot. Pulling them in also isn't super consistent. Some times I swing over them and they ding no problem and sometimes they don't ding at all.

3: Iron that is discriminated out still makes noise most of the time. Seems like a lot of the soil here has lots of iron in it. Usually waking around I get a ding every 5 or 10 seconds. The display usually just has the arrow pointed to iron. Seems like if it was discriminated out it wouldn't make any noise?

4: If I turn on pinpointing in coin and jewelry mode it seems like if I touch the coil to the ground it goes silent even if I have a really good signal.

5: This might be my area but I'm getting tons of hits at the very top end of the scale that register as dollar and aren't really repeatable enough to dig. I can usually go in to pinpointing mode and it usually puts them at about 8.5 in or so. I have dug a few but never found anything.

RobRieman

Silver Member
Nov 12, 2012
Cincinnati Ohio
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
White's V3i / Minelab E-trac
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Your learning quick killer. That's the 5 things that everyone battles in this hobby. Stay at it another 30 years and the list gets much longer. It takes time and patience and you will learn all the querks. Good luck out there!

OP
OP
K