Shake_n_Bake

Greenie
Jan 2, 2018
Republic of Texas ;-)
Detector(s) used
Minelab XTerra 705 Gold
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi all, thanks for letting me join the forum. Been lurking off and on over the last year and a half. Always enjoy reading the posts here even though I'm quite unexperienced at metal detecting.

After doing a bit of research I bought an Xterra 705 Gold about 18 months ago. First time I took it out was at a beach in Galveston TX shortly after I bought it. Being a noob I wasn't sure what to expect, I enjoyed it but I had issues, I thought anyway. The metal detector behaved odd from my (uneducated) perspective. I've only used it a few times since and it still behaves in a way that I'm just not sure about. So after 18 months of fumbling through and watching videos, I thought I'd post here since you all know what you're doing.

With my detector, at startup, the display shows the blank numeric indicator with the depth arrows in motion. That's normal. Once my detector hits, the numeric metal indicator and depth arrows lock in. All seems to work as expected. But then after moving on, the display stays locked in and doesn't change unless I come across another target. For example I could be walking around for 10 minutes with a -2 and depth arrow frozen on the screen. The numbers won't change an the arrows won't move until I come across another target - or - I toggle the pinpoint button. Based on watching videos and just gut feeling, It seems like the display should revert back to the blank with depth arrows in motion, otherwise it just seems like it's frozen. I regularly check that it's still detecting because of the frozen screen.

Can any xterra users tell me if this is normal?

Tired Rooster

Nov 6, 2011
Alabama
Detector(s) used
Minelabs and Tesoros
Several of them....
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting