Agreement between Jacob Waltz and Andrew Starar (8/8/1878) - what was it all about?

Cubfan64

Silver Member
Feb 13, 2006
New Hampshire - USA
Detector(s) used
Fisher CZ21, Teknetics T2 & Minelab Sovereign GT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
In order to avoid steering a thread away from it's intended purpose, I decided to start a separate discussion surrounding the documented agreement formed between Jacob Waltz and Andrew Starar on August 8, 1878.

I'm no expert whatsoever in this area, so I'm not sure how much input I'll really have. I just wanted to get the ball rolling by posting my attempt at transcribing the document from the Maricopa County Recorder's Office website.

I left a few blanks where I just couldn't figure out for sure what the words were, so hopefully someone else can help fill in those blanks. In addition, if anyone finds what I'm sure are going to be some errors in the transcription, please help me make those corrections as well.

The original document can be found if you go to:

Maricopa County Recorder Elections Department

Open up the 1871-1946 search tab and enter 3 in the docket/book box and 322 in the page box, then hit search. About 2/3 of the way down the page, the document in question begins.

Here is my attempt to transcribe it. Prepare yourselves for a whole bunch of "party of this part and party of that part" legaleez!!! Perhaps a good place to start after this is for someone to put together a concise "average Joe" description of the agreement?

If this thread dies due to lack of interest or input, it is what it is. At least the document is here if anyone ever wants to go back and read it.

Book of Deeds – Book 3, page 322 (starting about 2/3 down the page)

This agreement made and entered into this eighth day of
August in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hun-
dred and seventy eight between Jacob Waltz of the county
of Maricopa and Territory of Arizona the party of the first