All my buttons

Hunting_Dad

Mar 25, 2010
New England
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800
I havent been at this very long and have been fortunate to find several nice coins, tokens and other relics over the last ten months...most of which sent me down a research rabbit hole which I enjoy nearly as much as getting out metal detecting.
So today I decided to go through my jar buttons to see where that leads me. I have a couple tombacs, some modern uniform buttons, a bunch of flat buttons, “fancy” buttons, some with a little gilt left... and my favorite even has a little fish on it.
I figure i have 3centuries represented here. Does anything jump out at any of you? Anything tidbits of info specific to buttons to share with a novice?
Thanks for looking -HD
8C54E1AF-DB3F-47CE-ACF9-905E0704E41B.jpg

Almy

Bronze Member
Mar 18, 2011
Maritime Provinces
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Cibola
Primary Interest:
Other
Good collection spanning quite a period, I think. The top button of the 3 in the bottom left looks like pewter and may be the oldest one. Those types tend to crumble and should be coated with diluted Elmer's glue to strengthen them. Is there anything on the face? It might be military.

Dug

Bronze Member
Feb 18, 2013
SC Lowcountry
Detector(s) used
XP Deus/Sovereign GT.
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
I like that Marine Corps coat in the upper left...for obvious reasons.:laughing7:

Nice collection.

too_pointer

Apr 24, 2015
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro.
Garrett " Carrot " Propointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I havent been at this very long and have been fortunate to find several nice coins, tokens and other relics over the last ten months...most of which sent me down a research rabbit hole which I enjoy nearly as much as getting out metal detecting.