ANY GOLD IN LOWER MICHIGAN!!!!!!!

49erjohn

Mar 21, 2007
MARINE09666, i have been prospecting in michigan for 20 years now and have not found my first speck of real gold here in michigan. i have panned, sluiced, and metal detected with my mxt and found nothing. save up and head to california---thats the place you want to be. the best of luck! ! ! JOHN

OP
OP
Sky_Warrior

Sky_Warrior

Apr 23, 2008
Auburn Hills MI
Detector(s) used
MY ACE 250 JUST GOT HERE 5/07/08, also used a fisher 1220-x
49erjohn said:
MARINE09666, i have been prospecting in michigan for 20 years now and have not found my first speck of real gold here in michigan. i have panned, sluiced, and metal detected with my mxt and found nothing. save up and head to california---thats the place you want to be. the best of luck! ! ! JOHN

Yah thats what i heard...Just thought id see if anyone found anything. Thanks

Semper Fi :sunny:

Steve in Michigan

Apr 9, 2005
Mid Michigan
Detector(s) used
Garrett GTP 1350, Garrett Freedon Ace
Well I don't think John knows what he is talking about because I have found gold in Michigan. No we don't have nuggets, just flakes, but there there if you go to the right areas. I have panned for gold up near Glennie near the dams and been successful. There is also gold on the western side of the state. Athens, Traverse City, etc. I am not sure how good you are at panning, but you just need to take your time. If you can get yourself a little sluice box, that may help. There is a Michigan Gold Prospectors Association and to become a member is relatively cheap. I believe its $70.00 a year and they have outings all the time. I think one of the outings is in Gladwin at some campsite. I have been tempted on becoming a member myself. Check out the library and there are books on gold in michigan. You can also google michigan gold. I wish you much success and don't stop trying. Its there!

Your Friend,

Steve in Michigan :thumbsup:

49erjohn

Mar 21, 2007