Are these Marbles?

Old California

Jul 16, 2006
Central California
At first, When I found these broken pieces of clear near circular glass looking pieces back in 2004, I assumed they were off a switch board or pertaining to some type of late 1900 century gizmo for a Train switch panel? You know fixed with a light behind telling which tracks have been switched or something of that mater, So I never pursued them any further.

Now, After yesterdays eye ball finds from the same area (Cross Creek train station & a later community) replacing the train depot maybe these are clear marbles as yesterdays find is completely round.

The (The Owls Drug Co.) bottle is no earlier than 1892 since this is when the Owls Co started so this community at Cross Creek surely may have been there the entire 1890's maybe even early 20th century, I'm not a Marble expert but yesterdays find sure appears to be a large clear marble?

Appreciate any info here, Thanks and good hunting.
Paul (Ca)

Attachments

• 00000000001.JPG
    00000000001.JPG
    38.4 KB · Views: 1,483

El

Tenderfoot
May 16, 2007
Don't know about the possible marbles, neat bottle and how deep was the quarter ::). Thanks for the story.

El

OP
OP
Old California

Old California

Jul 16, 2006
Central California
Hi El,

El, The quarter is for sizing purposes :) I'm starting to think these are larger older clear marbles, I mean what else can they be?

Plus, I've met Battery once a few years ago or maybe 6-7 years ago? I'll be good to see him again, How time flies :)

Thanks amigo!
Paul

Boxtopp

Jul 11, 2004
Lake county Ca
Detector(s) used
Se mxt tiger shark
Hi Paul,

Thanks for calling me today. Your large looking marble is for making fiber glass. When I was four years old my dad use to bring them home. He would find them next to the train tracks. Is their any factories around were you found them?

Looking forward toward a serious hunt bud, keep me in mind..

Eric

OP
OP
Old California

Old California

Jul 16, 2006